Sep 22, 2019  
2015-2016 Student Handbook 
    
2015-2016 Student Handbook [ARCHIVED PUBLICATION]

Selected Policies Governing Students


Privilege to Attend Class

Only those individuals officially enrolled are allowed to be in the classroom during class hours, except for invited guests of the instructor or student(s) when present on official business. For example, children of students are not permitted to attend classes with their parent(s). Children also are not allowed to be on campus unattended while their parent(s) is in class.

Visitors

Visitors who have official business at the college are welcome. However, persons who do not have legitimate reasons for being on the campus are not allowed to use the campus facilities. Loitering is strictly prohibited.

Transportation

Since ECC is a commuter college, transportation is not provided for students; however, if transportation is a concern, students should contact the Student Support Specialist in the Student Services Department for assistance.

Student Dress Code

Edgecombe Community College expects all students to dress in a manner keeping with the serious academic intent of the college and the community in general. The college invites business leaders and industry representatives on campus throughout the academic year. Therefore, students should always keep in mind that they may have an unexpected opportunity to meet prospective employers, and first impressions are lasting impressions.

In view of these considerations, students are expected to use good judgment in dressing appropriately within the generally accepted boundaries of good taste. Although the college does not intend to impose upon individual style or creativity, students are prohibited from wearing clothing that is sexually suggestive or revealing, which includes exposing undergarments. Students will not be permitted to dress in a manner which disrupts the educational environment.

Though students may dress casually, they should present a clean and hygienic appearance while on campus or attending an ECC sponsored activity, function, or event off campus. Shirts and shoes are required on campus at all times. Displaying gang colors or symbols, offensive, lewd comments, and/or profanity are prohibited. As a general rule, caps, hats, and doo rags should not be worn in any classroom. Students are expected to dress in a manner appropriate to their major area of study. Certain curricula, such as the allied health programs, may require special attire for clinical and laboratory work. When this requirement is not met, students may not attend clinicals or laboratories.

Students who fail to adhere to the guidelines stated above are not allowed in any ECC facility and are subject to disciplinary action which may include suspension and/or expulsion.

Food and Drinks

The college provides vending machines in the student lounge that dispense cakes, cookies, soft drinks, and other sundries.  No food or drink is allowed in the classroom.

Use of College Telephone

A public telephone is provided for student use and is conveniently located on each campus. Students are cautioned against having parents and friends call during class time as students are called out of class only to receive emergency calls from the following institutions: hospitals, day care centers, and public schools.

Cellular Phones

For the respect of fellow classmates and instructors, all cell phones should be off or on “silent” during class, in the college library, and in all other learning environments on campus.

Children on Campus

Children are not allowed to be unattended in any campus facility at any time. Children are strictly forbidden from attending class.

Parking Fee

Students must have valid parking decals on their vehicles. Students must park in the designated student parking areas on both campuses.

Abuse of College Property

The property of the college must not be abused or removed from the place where it belongs. Students who destroy or abuse the buildings or furnishings are permanently dismissed from the college. Students are held liable for the damages. Computer use must be limited to educational purposes only.

Donations and Solicitations

Requests for donations or solicitations from the business, industrial, or public sector of the community should be forwarded as a written proposal stating the purpose of the request to the Vice President of Student Services. Final approval of requests for donations or solicitations is then the decision of the Vice President of Student Services and the President.

Continuing Education and Lifelong Learning

Continuing Education and Lifelong Learning promotes the lifelong learning process by offering a wide range of programs and services. These programs and services are designed to meet the needs and interests of adults, regardless of their educational background. Some courses and services are offered on a continuing basis while others begin as a result of specific requests by individuals, professional or civic groups, and/or business and industry.

Courses can be developed on or off campus, day or night, whenever or wherever there is an interest expressed by a sufficient number of people. Courses and services are usually designed to assist in the following areas:

  • To prepare for entry into an occupation
  • To upgrade or retrain employed individuals
  • To provide cultural awareness
  • To provide self-improvement opportunities

The broad areas of Continuing Education and Lifelong Learning are College & Career Readiness, Hispanic/Latino Initiatives, Human Resources Development, Special Programs, Customized Training, Business and Industry Services, Career Readiness Certification, Public Safety Programs, Small Business Center, and Workforce Development and Training Center. Requests and suggestions for additional courses are welcome!

Contact Information

Business and Industry Services George Anderson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 197,
  andersong@edgecombe.edu
   
Career Readiness Certificates Sylvia Hinton-Grant, (252) 823-5166, ext. 166,
  grants@edgecombe.edu
  Shelia Shaw, (252) 823-5166, ext. 243,
  shaws@edgecombe.edu
   
College & Career Readiness/Adult High School Equivalency/LEIS Jerry Harper, (252) 823-5166, ext. 379,
  harperj@edgecombe.edu
  Viola Harris, (252) 823-5166, ext. 385,
  harrisv@edgecombe.edu
  Dalanda Bond, (252) 823-5166, ext. 271,
  bondd@edgecombe.edu
   
Community Theatre Roberta Cashwell, (252) 823-5166, ext. 218,
  cashwellr@edgecombe.edu
   
Customized Training for Businesses George Anderson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 197,
  andersong@edgecombe.edu
   
Education to Go - Online Courses Trudy Lynn, (252) 823-5166, ext. 220,
  lynnt@edgecombe.edu
  Gwen Hyman, (252) 823-5166, ext. 357,
  hymang@edgecombe.edu
   
Fire and EMS Robert Whistler, (252) 823-5166, ext. 120,
  whistlerr@edgecombe.edu
   
Health Occupations Laura Clark, (252) 823-5166, ext. 322,
  clarkl@edgecombe.edu
   
Hispanic/Latino Programs Lynn Cale, (252) 823-5166, ext. 249,
  calel@edgecombe.edu
   
Historic Preservation Monika Fleming, (252) 823-5166, ext. 241,
  flemingm@edgecombe.edu
   
Human Resources Development-Employability Skills Lori Winstead, (252) 823-5166, ext. 272,
  winsteadl@edgecombe.edu
   
Introduction to Electronics Manufacturing Laura Otrimski, (252) 823-5166, ext. 121,
  otrimskil@edgecombe.edu
   
Introduction to Tire Manufacturing Laura Otrimski, (252) 823-5166, ext. 121,
  otrimskil@edgecombe.edu
   
Law Enforcement/BLET Bernice Taylor, (252) 823-5166, ext. 175,
  taylorb@edgecombe.edu
   
Lean Six Sigma George Anderson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 197,
  andersong@edgecombe.edu
   
Real Estate Programs Gwen Hyman, (252) 446-0436, ext. 357,
  hymang@edgecombe.edu
   
Small Business Center/Entrepreneurship Ed Ormsby, (252) 823-5166, ext. 269,
  ormsbye@edgecombe.edu
   
Special Programs: Effective Teacher Training, Notary Public, Real Estate, etc.
   
  Trudy Lynn, (252) 823-5166, ext. 220,
  lynnt@edgecombe.edu
  Gwen Hyman, (252) 823-5166, ext. 357,
  hymang@edgecombe.edu
   
Sustainability George Anderson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 197,
  andersong@edgecombe.edu
   
General Information Brittany Harrelson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 293,
  harrelsonb@edgecombe.edu
   
Assistant to the Associate VP of Instruction Rhonda Wells, (252) 823-5166, ext. 265,
  wellsr@edgecombe.edu
   
Administrative Assistant Reatherbell Johnson, (252) 823-5166, ext. 356,
  johnsonr@edgecombe.edu
   
Associate VP of Instruction Lynn Cale, (252) 823-5166, ext. 249,
  calel@edgecombe.edu
   
Vice President of Instruction Dr. John Enamait, (252) 823-5166, ext. 251,
  enamaitj@edgecombe.edu
   
Dean/Arts & Sciences Dr. Harry Starnes, (252) 823-5166, ext. 221,
  starnesh@edgecombe.edu
   
Dean/Health Sciences & Public Safety Robin Pigg, (252) 823-5166, ext. 384,
  piggr@edgecombe.edu
   
Interim Dean/Business, Industry & Technologies Kathy Webb, (252) 823-5166, 205
  webbk@edgecombe.edu